Contact IEP Financial

Making the Most of ISAs

Key Facts Guide Download

Inside Your Making the Most of ISAs eBook


When Individual Savings Accounts (ISAs) first appeared in 1999, as a replacement for PEPs and TESSAs, they were a relatively straightforward offering. In the 19 years since complication has set in.

The point has now been reached where a recent report on savings tax from the Office of Tax Simplification (OTS) suggested that, “there is scope for a wider full review of the current ISA landscape, to make the regime simpler and more accessible”.

For example, by some counts, there are now seven different categories of ISA, although the government’s website says there are only four (cash ISAs, stocks and shares ISAs, innovative finance ISAs, and Lifetime ISAs). For clarification, we outline five below, in order of their original launch date.

Download your Making the Most of ISAs eBook Today